Black-folk metallers Galar announce live line-up

Norwegian Black-Folk Metallers GALAR, whose second full-length album “Til Alle Heimsens Endar” was released on Dark Essence Records in March of this year, have announced the band’s live line up. Joining founder members M. Kristiansen (screams and rhythm guitar) and A. B. Lauritzen (clean vocals and bassoon) are Specter (GRAVDAL, AETERNUS) on lead guitar and Phobos (GRAVDAL, AETERNUS, MALSAIN) on drums. An announcement regarding a bass player is expected soon.

Based in Bergen, a town noted for its prolific, and increasingly important, music scene, GALAR was, until now, a two-man studio band, which used guest musicians from various musical disciplines to perform on “Til Alle Heimsens Endar”, a concept album based around the “Heimskringla”, Snorri Sturluson’s history of Norwegian Kings. With appearances from Phobos on drums, Ricardo Odriozola on first and second violins, Hans Gunnar Hagen on viola, Siri Hilmen on cello, Morten Nome on double bass, and Cecile Langlie on female vox, “Til Alle Heimsens Endar”, which means “until the ends of all worlds”, is an album that is strongly evocative of the traditions of both black metal and folk music, but with an original sound and feel that is very much GALAR.

The band has been rehearsing the new live line up for several months, and both Kristiansen and Lauritzen, are looking forward to taking their music to a live audience. More information about GALAR can be found on the band’s MySpace page at

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • Propeller
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • Twitter
  • Yahoo! Buzz
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Related posts

Leave a Reply