Audrey Horne – Audrey Horne (2010)

AH-III-cover-350Audrey Horne are a hard rock/post grunge band from Bergen, Norway featuring members from Enslaved, Sahg and Deride.
Having been a fan of Audrey Horne’s previous two albums I’ve been looking forward to this since I first heard about it in late 2009. My high expectations initially lead to disappointment when on the first listen the album failed to really keep my interest at all. However after playing it a few more times it has become one of my favorite albums of the year so far.
There isn’t much I can really say about each track individually as I feel the album should be listened to as a whole thing to be really appreciated but I will make a few points on some of the notable tracks
Opening with ” These Vultures”, a slow track with eerie chanting vocals the album then flows into two reasonably similar paced tracks, “Charon”, a track named after the mythological Greek ferryman of Hades and “Circus” a track with some really interesting riffs and a slight feel of organized chaos.
One thing that seems apparent after listening to just the first three tracks is that the instruments are very dominant, usually I’m one who pays a fair bit of attention to lyrics but here I found myself being immersed in the entire songs.

Getting back on track, “Down Like Suicide” is the single from the album and probably the easiest to listen to. With “Pitch Black Mourning” being another I can happily listen to regularly and probably the stand out track of the album. “Pitch Black Mourning” is a somewhat plodding track making for a nice pace change, the way the guitars complement works exceptionally well.
As the album approaches it’s end there really isn’t much more for me to say, the last few tracks are good at least up until the end of “Godspeed”. Talk about going out with a whimper, now there is nothing wrong with slow tracks. This just takes the piss though, repeating the same line for two minutes just becomes unbearably tedious leaving the listener waiting for it to end, the same way some Family Guy gags drag on.

Despite the somewhat disappointing ending, I really cannot recommend this album enough. Comparison to the bands other releases it feels a lot more technical as well as a lot mellower featuring a lot less of the shouting common to the other two albums.



1. These Vultures
2. Charon
3. Circus
4. Down Like Suicide
5. Blaze Of Ashes
6. Sail Away
7. Bridges & Anchors
8. Pitch Black Mourning
9. Firehose
10. Darkdrive
11. Godspeed

Band members:

Toschie – Vocals
Ice Dale – Guitar
Thomas Tofthagen – guitar
Kjetil Greve – drums

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • email
  • Propeller
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • Twitter
  • Yahoo! Buzz
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Related posts

One Response to “Audrey Horne – Audrey Horne (2010)”

  1. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by John Harper. John Harper said: Audrey Horne – Audrey Horne (2010): Audrey Horne are a hard rock/post grunge band from Bergen, Norway … #rock #metal [...]

Leave a Reply